Montréal - QC -

Checked Certification

Checked Details

Last login: April 25, 2017

Geneviève M.

Friendly Multilingual French Tutor (Online via FaceTime)

French: Beginner Adult, Intermediary Adult, Advanced Adult

French conversation: Beginner Adult, Intermediary Adult, Advanced Adult

Experience

Hello! I am a former research linguist with a specialty in second-language acquisition. I am a native French speaker who is also fluent in English, Spanish, Portuguese and Italian. Over the years, I have been teaching the French language at beginner and intermediate levels to adult students ranging from international students at McGill University, Montreal, Canada to children and working professionals (lawyers, journalists, etc.) in central London, UK. My students have improved rapidly in French pronunciation and in French conversational skills within the first 3 months of taking lessons with me, which is typically why students choose me to be their French tutor.

Tutoring Style

I tutor to all ages and to levels ranging from beginner to intermediate French. I specialize on teaching effective language learning techniques and on helping my students acquire a more native-sounding accent in French, which is a vital skill to gain confidence and practice in communicating in French. I tailor each lesson to the student's own needs, but, in general, we use a textbook which provides each lesson with some theme-based conversation, pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary. I also suggest various techniques and tools to learn the language, ranging from flashcard and mnemonic systems to motivational and conversation techniques. I believe that effective language learning can only happen when the student is motivated, having fun while learning and of course disciplined enough to study the language at regular intervals between the lessons.

Resume

I first obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Philosophy and the German Language at McGill University, Montreal, Canada in 2014. Then, I completed a MRes with Distinction (Master of Research) in Speech, Language and Cognition at the Faculty of Brain Sciences of University College London (UCL), London, UK in 2015. My master's thesis was a research study on how well could English monolinguals learn to distinguish the sounds of Polish fricatives (which typically sound the same to English speakers) after training on a custom-built mobile app on their Apple devices. Apart from tutoring online, I am currently working on a documentary film which is due for release in July 2017. In my spare time, I like to play classical piano, to scuba dive, to dance and to learn new languages :)

Availability

In Person $0 / Hour

Online $50 / Hour

Education Background

Master University College London (UCL) - 2015 - UK, London
Bachelor McGill University - 2014 - Canada, Montreal

Rate specification & Cancellation policy

If the student commits to paying 4 lessons up front, then the rate is reduced to 45.00 USD per lesson.

I have a 24h cancellation policy. If the course is cancelled less than 24h before the scheduled lesson, then 45.00 USD will be due, except for exceptional circumstances.